Community Recovery Bushfire Reference Group

The purpose of the reference group is to provide strategic advice and feedback to assist Council in supporting the MidCoast community to recover and renew following the bushfire events of late 2019. 

The reference group will also help to support the recovery and renewal process by working with Council to support local recovery efforts for communities impacted by the bushfire events.

The group reflects the value that Council places on our unique, diverse and culturally rich communities as well as our connected community across the MidCoast.

Black Summer Bushfires devastated the MidCoast community in November 2019. According to RFS building impact assessments there were:

  • 125 homes destroyed
  • 62 homes damaged
  • 9 facilities destroyed
  • 16 facilities damaged
  • 270 outbuildings destroyed
  • 129 outbuildings damaged

The Bushfire Recovery Reference Group will play an important and ongoing role in:

  • Listening to the community
  • Providing feedback to Council
  • Helping identify and establish priorities for community bushfire recovery
  • Developing the processes and procedures by which they communicate and engage with the community
  • Supporting community-led recovery and renewal of the MidCoast community

Reference Group members

Councillor representatives

Mayor David West

Deputy Mayor Claire Pontin

Community representatives

Community Development Professional 

Bree Katsamangos - 6539 2002 - katsamangosb@missionaustralia.com.au

Failford 

Kylie Atkinson - 0428 089 572 - kylie.atkinson@health.nsw.gov.au

Gloucester

Adam Parish - 0456 104 639 - adamparish1976@gmail.com

Harrington

Mike Parsons - 0438 247 201 - mike@professionalsharrington.com.au

Johns River / Moorland

Daintry Gerrand - 0429 198 472 - daintry.gerrand@gmail.com; daintry.gerrand@lls.nsw.gov.au

Killabakh

Greg Hale - 0412 476 048 - gabiandgreg@gmail.com

Marlee / Bobin

Kim MacDonald - 0428 744 006 - kimmie2518@hotmail.com

MidCoast Renewal Committee

Lucinda Fischer - 0429 636 166 - lucindafischer@outlook.com

Mooral Creek

Lindsay Segal - 0419 621 661 - lindsay@sassafras.id.au

Mount George / Caffreys Flat

Neal Parker - 0410 664 641 - neal66@netspace.net.au

Old Bar / Wallabi Point

Bettina Bettington - 0458 555 040 - bettina.bettington@hotmail.com

Jenny Brewer - 0433 080 480 - jenbrewer77@gmail.com

Rainbow Flat

Mark Johnson - 0414 887 512 - mjo16677@bigpond.net.au

Peter Ruprecht - 0437 349 886 - peterdavidruprecht@gmail.com

Tinonee / Hillville

Sharon Chamberlain - 0400 372 767 - sharon.chamberlain@bigpond.com

Trypheyna McShane - 0404 145 928 - trypheyna@amazions.com.au
(Possum Brush) 

Upper Lansdowne

Alastair Breingan - 0409 712 659 - alistair.breingan@lelal.com

Wherrol Flat / Caparra

Linda MacKenzie - 6550 7128 - lrmac@westnet.com.au



Minutes



Supporting Documentation